Tag: Books: Canadian Literature


Review: Heart of the City

Posted 26 February, 2018 by Lianne in Books / 0 Comments

Heart of the City (Detective Greene, #5)
By: Robert Rotenberg
Format/Source: eBook; my purchase

In the latest thrilling crime novel from bestselling author Robert Rotenberg, Homicide Detective Ari Greene discovers the bludgeoned body of Toronto’s most reviled developer behind his controversial new construction site.

When Detective Ari Greene was charged with the murder of the woman he loved, he stopped at nothing to clear his name and uncover the real killer. After his acquittal, Greene fled to London to get away from it all, but now he’s back. And he’s not alone—with Greene is his twenty-year-old daughter, Alison. The child he never knew he had.

Determined to leave his life as a cop behind him, Greene gets a job on a construction site for one of Toronto’s many new condos. It seems he has finally found peace as he settles into a new career and new role as a father, helping Alison adjust to life in Canada.

But when Greene stumbles upon the corpse of hated developer Livingston Fox, he is plunged back into the life he tried so hard to leave behind. As the body count rises, Greene is forced into a reluctant reconciliation with his former protégé, Daniel Kennicott. The pair must delve into the tight-knit world of downtown development, navigating tangled loyalties, unexpected corruption, and family secrets, some of which are closer to home than Greene could have ever imagined.

In a world where the stakes are high and the profits are even higher, Greene and Kennicott race against the clock as they follow the trail of blood and money to its shocking end.

After the end of the last book, I wasn’t entirely sure if the series would continue or if that was the end of Ari Greene’s story and the other characters would continue on. Anyway, reading the preview of the book allayed my questions on the matter as Ari Greene and the rest of the cast of characters are back in this latest novel by Robert Rotenberg. What especially intrigued me about the premise of this book is that once again it’s a timely topic tackled: Toronto’s real estate.

Read More

Review: Through Black Spruce

Posted 2 November, 2017 by Lianne in Books / 0 Comments

Through Black Spruce
By: Joseph Boyden
Format/Source: eBook; my purchase

Will Bird is a legendary Cree bush pilot, now lying in a coma in a hospital in his hometown of Moose Factory, Ontario. His niece Annie Bird, beautiful and self-reliant, has returned from her own perilous journey to sit beside his bed. Broken in different ways, the two take silent communion in their unspoken kinship, and the story that unfolds is rife with heartbreak, fierce love, ancient blood feuds, mysterious disappearances, fires, plane crashes, murders, and the bonds that hold a family, and a people, together. As Will and Annie reveal their secrets-the tragic betrayal that cost Will his family, Annie’s desperate search for her missing sister, the famous model Suzanne-a remarkable saga of resilience and destiny takes shape.

From the dangerous bush country of upper Canada to the drug-fueled glamour of the Manhattan club scene, Joseph Boyden tracks his characters with a keen eye for the telling detail and a rare empathy for the empty places concealed within the heart. Sure to appeal to readers of Louise Erdrich and Jim Harrison, Through Black Spruce establishes Boyden as a writer of startling originality and uncommon power.

And here we are at the last book I have by Joseph Boyden sitting on my TBR pile (and second to the last of his published novels that I’ve read to date). I acutally started reading a bit of it over the summer but decided to hold on it, thinking it was more of an autumn-read

Read More

Review: the sun and her flowers

Posted 24 October, 2017 by Lianne in Books / 2 Comments

the sun and her flowers
By: Rupi Kaur
Format/Source: Paperback; my purchase

rom Rupi Kaur, the #1 New York Times bestselling author of milk and honey, comes her long-awaited second collection of poetry. A vibrant and transcendent journey about growth and healing. Ancestry and honoring one’s roots. Expatriation and rising up to find a home within yourself.

Divided into five chapters and illustrated by Kaur, the sun and her flowers is a journey of wilting, falling, rooting, rising, and blooming. A celebration of love in all its forms.

this is the recipe of life
said my mother
as she held me in her arms as i wept
think of those flowers you plant
in the garden each year
they will teach you
that people too
must wilt
fall
root
rise
in order to bloom

At long last, Rupi Kaur’s second poetry collection is out! Firstly, I have to say, I’m impressed how the book cover is similar to the first book…I also love the currogated texture of the book cover, much better than the first collection where the material left fingerprints and everything everywhere O_o Yes, these are all things that I notice O_O

Read More

Review: Stray Bullets

Posted 12 October, 2017 by Lianne in Books / 0 Comments

Stray Bullets (Detective Greene #3)
By: Robert Rotenberg
Format/Source: Mass market paperback; my purchase

When a young boy is caught in the deadly crossfire of a downtown gun battle, the city is thrown into spasms of shock. The press makes the killing front-page news. The outraged public demands action. The devastated family needs answers. In this tense climate of anger and grief, Homicide Detective Ari Greene makes a high-profile arrest.

But did he get the wrong person? Brilliant defense lawyer Nancy Parish thinks so. Despite the tidal wave of evidence against her client, she’s convinced he’s innocent. Never content with easy answers, Greene and his protégé Daniel Kennicott pursue the truth as the man they have charged with first-degree murder is put on trial for his life.

In Stray Bullets, bestselling author Robert Rotenberg returns with his compelling mix of insider knowledge, brilliantly drawn characters, and high courtroom drama. In Rotenberg’s world, nothing is certain until the last clue falls into place.

Stray Bullets is the only novel to date (well, at the time that I read it; his latest novel, The Heart of the City, came out last month) from Robert Rotenberg’s bibliography that I haven’t read. I was quite delighted that they decided to release it in mass market paperback (not sure why the first two weren’t so far, but anyway) so I was able to read it during my break at work.

Read More

Review: The Orenda

Posted 13 September, 2017 by Lianne in Books / 0 Comments

The Orenda
By: Joseph Boyden
Format/Source: eBook; my purchase

A visceral portrait of life at a crossroads, The Orenda opens with a brutal massacre and the kidnapping of the young Iroquois Snow Falls, a spirited girl with a special gift. Her captor, Bird, is an elder and one of the Huron Nation’s great warriors and statesmen. It has been years since the murder of his family and yet they are never far from his mind. In Snow Falls, Bird recognizes the ghost of his lost daughter and sees the girl possesses powerful magic that will be useful to him on the troubled road ahead. Bird’s people have battled the Iroquois for as long as he can remember, but both tribes now face a new, more dangerous threat from afar. Christophe, a charismatic Jesuit missionary, has found his calling amongst the Huron and devotes himself to learning and understanding their customs and language in order to lead them to Christ. An emissary from distant lands, he brings much more than his faith to the new world. As these three souls dance each other through intricately woven acts of duplicity, small battles erupt into bigger wars and a nation emerges from worlds in flux.

I had a few other books by Joseph Boyden that have been sitting on my TBR pile for some time. This book in particular was everywhere a few years ago so I was finally compelled to pick it up. I’ve enjoyed the other books of his that I’ve read so far so I was curious to read this book.

Read More